Page 114: Savory Pan-Fried Chicken with Hot Sauce

Image

Whoa. This was amazing. Delicious. Best fried chicken I’ve ever had. And I made it! At home! The magazine says it tastes like chicken from a bucket, but I think it’s even better. Just writing this post makes me want to abandon the ground beef thawing on the counter and fry up some chicken. 

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts (the magazine said 8 boneless thighs, but I didn’t have any)

2 large eggs (one didn’t cut it)

1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

canola oil

hot sauce

 

Instructions:

Butterfly your chicken breasts and pound flat. Trust me, it’s worth the mess. 

Beat eggs in a shallow dish.

Mix flour, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, black and red peppers. 

Heat oil in a pan over no hotter than medium. Dip chicken breasts in egg, then dredge in flour mix, then dip in egg again, and dredge in flour mix again. Cooking Light says to do it once. Probably doing it twice makes it less light, but it’s too good not to. Place chicken in oil. Once it’s golden brown, flip. Preheat broiler. When the chicken was good and fried, I realized that it wasn’t quite hot enough (I love my new meat thermometer! Thanks, Mama Morena!), so I popped it under the broiler until it was done.

I sprinkled mine with Tabasco. My husband ate his plain. We both thought it was better than eating out. Darn you, Cooking Light, you keep giving my husband reasons to say, “why don’t you just cook? Your food is better than a restaurant!”

Leave a Reply

